Lean on

I’m learning to ask for help. To reach out. It’s something I’ve never done before. I have been fiercely independent all my life, and I think it has something to do with going through high school without having a boyfriend, and perhaps because of the bullying I experienced.

I learned to lean on my family, but I’m not a person who asks for help, especially from strangers. Josh has been teaching me that it’s okay to ask for advice and expertise from others, and, it’s such a good way to launch yourself into something you’re passionate about. As I’m trying to launch a career into photography, I’ve quickly realized (especially in the last few days) that I have to reach out to people who already have the knowledge. It’s the best way to learn. But I also have to reach out to people who may be willing to take a chance on me, because how else will those people find me? How else will I build up my portfolio?

This all started with enrolling in a Creative Live workshop with Scott Robert Lim, an absolutely incredible photographer whose style is so simple I can’t believe I never thought about it. He travels around the world shooting weddings, and that means his gear has to travel with him. So he developed his style using off camera flash with standard speedlights. This is exactly what I’ve been looking for, and two days into the workshop I’ve learned so much, I fear my brain might explode by the end of the three days. But in a good way!

But it’s so simple, and Lim is a great teacher. I’ve taken eight pages of notes so far. The only downfall is that I lack some of the gear at the moment, but with so many notes, I’m sure once I can get my hands on a flash transmitter I’ll be ready to go.

Anyway, it’s been an exciting few days. I’ve met some really great people here in town and things are rolling.

Annalee

Leave a comment